CEHMM - Board of Directors

Board of Directors

President, John A. Heaton, is a former state representative for the people of southeastern Eddy County, New Mexico. He chaired the Radioactive and Hazardous Materials Committee of the New Mexico State Legislature. He received a B.S. in pharmacy from the University of New Mexico and subsequently became a Fellow in the American Society of Consultant Pharmacists. He practiced primarily in southern New Mexico where he owned and operated several pharmacies as well as a number of other allied businesses.

Vice President, William M. Hadley, Ph.D., is Dean Emeritus and Professor Emeritus and Professor Emeritus of Pharmacology/Toxicology of the College of Pharmacy at the University of New Mexico (UNM). He is also an adjunct scientist at the Inhalation Toxicology Research Institute in Albuquerque, NM. Dr. Hadley is author or co-author of more than 50 scientific papers. He earned B.S. (Pharmacy), M.S., and Ph.D. degrees in pharmacology/toxicology from Purdue University.

Secretary, Michael H. Reynolds is former chief of the Carlsbad Fire Department, a licensed paramedic, and a certified Hazardous Materials Technician with a specialty in chemistry. He teaches training courses in the chemistry of hazardous materials, hazardous materials transportation regulations, and incident command. He holds two Associates’ degrees, a Bachelor’s degree, and is pursuing an M.A. in fire and emergency management administration.

Treasurer, Anibal L. Taboas serves as an executive consultant on environment, governance, and risk management issues. He has significant experience as a federal senior executive in the operation of major research facilities, the nuclear fuel cycle, and environmental remediation. Awards in recognition of some of his accomplishments include the Secretary of Energy Gold Medal, the Vice President’s Hammer Award, the Broken Knuckle Award, and several Exceptional Service Awards. He serves on various editorial boards of peer-reviewed journals, has over 50 publications, and is a Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. Mr. Taboas has graduate degrees in physics and in nuclear and mechanical engineering, has completed various other programs such as in corporate governance, and was a federal contracting officer.

Linda Rundell Board Member.

Vimal D. Chaitanya, Ph.D., is Vice President for Research, Graduate Studies, and International Programs and Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Chemical Engineering at New Mexico State University. Dr. Chaitanya holds a Ph.D. in Materials Science and Engineering from the Johns Hopkins University, a Masters in Bioengineering from Clemson University, and a Bachelor of Engineering in Mechanical Engineering from MSU. Dr. Chaitanya’s active research areas include materials characterization, material degradation and failure analysis. His significant technical contribution ranges from life prediction of thermal barrier coatings for gas turbines to chemical mechanical polishing for multi-layer electronic device fabrication.

Robert H. Forrest is former Mayor of Carlsbad, New Mexico. He is founder and President of the Carlsbad Area Retarded Citizen’s Farm and Washington Ranch, Inc., an organization with two large facilities that provides assistance for children and adults facing developmental disabilities and delays. He is the co-owner of Forrest Tire Company, owner of the Stevens Inn, and chairman of the board of the Carlsbad National Bank.

Douglas C. Lynn has served as Executive Director of CEHMM since 2006. His experience includes more than 15 years’ experience in NEPA and radiological environmental sampling and the various disciplines of land management; and 25 years’ experience in agricultural farm and ranch operations. During a 12-year tenure as a public school instructor, he was the recipient of state and national recognition for teaching excellence. In addition to a Bachelor of Science degree, he has amassed more than 13 professional certifications that include realty, RCRA, safety, data quality, environmental assessments, radiological surveillance, and certification as a Level I Petroleum Technician.

Van D. Romero, Ph.D., is the Vice President for Research and Economic Development at New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology (New Mexico Tech). He holds B.S. and M.S. degrees in physics from New Mexico Tech and a Ph.D. in physics from the State University of New York. Dr. Romero’s current research includes the development of a state-of-art astrophysics observatory to investigate near earth objects and deep space phenomena; the detection of explosives using Nano-Technology films; renewable energy reliability in power grids; and decontamination of produced water.